Who’s In Charge Project: Chapter 8- Anarchy

I think It’s probably about time I told you that I’m home-educated, if you didn’t know before :-) That means that I don’t go to school, and that I’m home-tutored by my mum! At home, we get to do lots more art and creative writing. We get to illustrate our projects, and sometimes, we’ve made them into lapbooks, in my opinion one of the best possible ways to set out a project! I also get to chose what I want to learn. I am very interested in how the government works, and so I did this project on it: Who’s In Charge. Here is chapter 8- Anarchy! (my favourite :D ) Enjoy!

-

What is Anarchy?

Anarchy means ‘without rule’ and is where there is no-one in charge. Everyone can do whatever they want and there are no rules at all. This may sound great on paper – however, there is one major difference between anarchy and the other forms of government; that is that anarchy has never actually been successful!

Why Anarchies Arise

Anarchy can arise when the government is weak and collapses or is overthrown. An example of this was in Spain in the 1930s during the civil war. The government was weak and was overthrown. Local Communists unities took charge and organized things without help or permission from the government. Large parts of Spain were run by anarchic groups and this helped people get on with normal lives during the war.